Library News Online

Library Resource Spotlight: News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

ProQuest’s News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive offers unprecedented digital access to the archival runs of 15 major 20th/21st-century consumer magazines covering such fields as the history of politics, current events, public policy, and international relations. Each title has a deep backfile — the earliest content dates from 1918 — and issues are scanned from… Keep Reading

Resource Spotlight: Alumni Access to HeinOnline

Massey Law Library is pleased to provide alumni access to HeinOnline’s American Bar Association Law Library Periodicals and Law Journal Library collections. ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals contains digital access to over 100 ABA-related periodicals including 44 periodicals previously only available to ABA section members and provides access to current volumes of included periodicals and… Keep Reading

Full-Text Content Now Available in RIPM

This January, the Music Library upgraded its subscription to the RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals to include full-text content. Featuring periodicals from 1760 to 1966, RIPM provides indexing for more than 270 music periodicals and the complete full-text of more than 180 rare primary source journals. New titles are added bi-annually. You can access… Keep Reading

Full-Text Content Now Available in RILM

This January, the Music Library upgraded its subscription to RILM Abstracts of Music Literature to include full-text content from more than 200 music periodicals from 50 countries. We retain access to RILM’s extensive international abstracts, and are pleased to offer enhanced access to content for research in musicology and ethnomusicology. You can access RILM from… Keep Reading

Resource Spotlight: Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Religion

Want some background on a religious topic from people you can trust?  Browse to Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Religion, where you’ll find articles about subjects like African Religions, Hinduism, Religion and Art, and Religion in America, among other categories. All of the articles are written by scholars who work in the areas they’re writing about (Vanderbilt’s… Keep Reading

New Database: RILM Music Encyclopedias

RILM Music Encyclopedias offers comprehensive encyclopedic coverage of a variety of subjects and topics in musicology and ethnomusicology including popular music, opera, women composers, and blues and gospel. Currently encompassing 54 titles dating from 1775 to the present, RILM Music Encyclopedias will continue to expand. Titles include Algemene muziek encyclopedie, Annals of Opera (1597-1940), Biographical… Keep Reading

New Resource for Streaming Video: medici.tv

Vanderbilt students, faculty, and staff now have access to medici.tv, “the world’s leading classical music channel.” Watch full-length concerts, ballets, operas, masterclasses, and documentaries, and tune in to special live-streamed events. Content includes performances from the Verbier Festival, Glyndebourne, the Salzburg Festival, and Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. Access medici.tv from the Wilson Music Library’s webpage (under “Video… Keep Reading

Bloomberg BNA Changes

As of December 31, 2018, Bloomberg BNA will be retired as a standalone product and will be available exclusively on Bloomberg Law. Previously, Bloomberg Law was only available to the law school community, but will now be accessible to all Vanderbilt University faculty, staff, and students via campus IP on January 1, 2019. Non-law students,… Keep Reading

Resource Spotlight: Nexis Uni

Legal research databases are notoriously restrictive when it comes to access for the average student user, but with Nexis Uni you’ll have all tools you’ll need. Formerly known as Lexis Academic, Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. The upgraded product… Keep Reading

Resource Spotlight: Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954

Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 is a fascinating primary source collection of materials about American Jews from the American Jewish Historical Society, New York.  Completely searchable, the documents in this resource — letters, postcards, telegrams, notebooks, scrapbooks, minutes, reports, financial records, and other materials — provide a wide-ranging yet often intimate picture of the persons… Keep Reading