Dean Dowell elected to ARL Board of Directors

Congratulations go to Dean Connie Vinita Dowell who was elected on October 11 by the Association of Research Libraries membership to serve a two-year term on its Board of Directors. The Board is the governing body of the Association and represents the interests of ARL member libraries in directing the business of the Association, including establishing operating policies, budgets, and fiscal control; modifying the ARL mission and objectives; and representing ARL to the community.

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is a nonprofit organization of the leading research libraries in the US and Canada.  ARL comprises 126 libraries at comprehensive, research-intensive institutions that share similar missions, aspirations, and achievements. ARL member libraries make up a large portion of the academic and research library marketplace, spending more than $1.4 billion every year on library materials.  ARL currently focuses on three strategic directions: Influencing Public Policies, Reshaping Scholarly Communication, and Transforming Research Libraries


ARL Board of Directors:

Wendy Pradt Lougee, President, Minnesota
Carol Diedrichs, Vice President/President-Elect, Ohio State
Winston Tabb, Past President, Johns Hopkins
Charles B. Lowry, ARL Executive Director, ex-officio
Larry Alford, Toronto
Deborah Carver, Oregon
Connie Vinita Dowell, Vanderbilt
Thomas Hickerson, Calgary
Ernie Ingles, Alberta
Anne Kenney, Cornell
Olivia Madison, Iowa State
Carton Rogers, Pennsylvania, ex-officio
Judith Russell, Florida
Jay Schafer, Massachusetts, Amherst
James Williams, Colorado at Boulder, ex-officio

Share This Story