New Purchase : Oxford Bibliographies Online

A bibliographic tool designed to help students and scholars move through the most important scholarship, commentary, and resources in a variety of religious studies areas, including Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islamic Studies, and Jewish Studies. Bibliographic entries in the database are linked to the Vanderbilt catalog.

OAK Gets New Look and Functionality

OAK (Online Access to Knowledge), Vanderbilt’s course management system, is expanding current functionality to provide additional services and customizations.  Efficiencies in course delivery and management will also be attained.   Several years ago, a proposal was prepared to enhance OAK that included a consolidated list of requests from the schools and student leaders. The collected… Keep Reading

World Scholar database trial until 1/31

World Scholar: Latin America-this database now includes an additional segment on trial of statistical and journal literature relating to Latin America and is available until January 31, 2012. http://worldscholar.galegroup.com/region/latin-america?u=nash87800

Latino Literature database trial until 2/2

Latino Literature is available on trial until February 2, 2012 (from campus only) and includes Latino folk tales, poetry, fiction, and drama-some of which have never been published before and some in audio format. http://lali.alexanderstreet.com

VU Library adopts JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection V

The Vanderbilt University Library is pleased to announce the adoption of the fifth installment of JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences Collection. This represents an important advance in support of research and teaching across humanities and social sciences disciplines. This collection adds an additional 3 million pages of content to the library’s electronic collections, including complete backfiles… Keep Reading

EbscoHost is now the platform for netLibrary e-books

E-books formerly part of the netLibrary collection are now fully integrated into the EBSCOhost platform as part of the “ebooks on EBSCOhost” collection.  “ebooks on EBSCOhost” can be found in the library’s database A-Z list.  Records for individual titles appear in Acorn with links to the e-books. As with netLibrary, only one person may view… Keep Reading

Oxford Bibliographies Online Trial extended to Nov. 30, 2010

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need… Keep Reading

Trial access to US Hispanic Newsstand

ProQuest’s US Hispanic Newsstand is on trial, September 2-September 30, 2010.  This trial is available on and off campus to library patrons.  Please send comments to Paula Covington (paula.covington@vanderbilt.edu). US Hispanic Newsstand contains full-text of major Hispanic newspapers published in the United States, representing diverse regions of the country. It includes Spanish and English language… Keep Reading

Trial access available Gran Enciclopedia de España, Gran Enciclopedia Iberoamericana

The library currently has a trial for a database containing the Gran Enciclopedia de España, and the Gran Enciclopedia Iberoamericana, two major universal encyclopedias emphasizing Spain and Latin America.  Access is only available on campus and the trial lasts until September 30.  For access information, please see the E-Trials Blog at http://weblog.library.vanderbilt.edu/etrials/archives/89.